Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Pregnancy & Birth
  4. Your Pregnancy
  5. Light spotting at @ 5 1/2 weeks pregnant

Light spotting at @ 5 1/2 weeks pregnant Lock Rss

Hi Everyone,
I am new to writing on this forum, although have always used it as a reference.
I was just wondering if others have experienced light bleeding / brown discharge early on in pregnancy. Sorry TMI.
I am @ 5 1/2 weeks pregnant and over the weekend beginning on Sat i had a very light bleed (red) once off, then had brown discharge for the rest of the day only when i wiped. Sunday it seemed to have pretty much disappeared, then today i have had brown discharge happening again. I rang ob today and he has sent me to have my HCG levels checked, I had one blood test today with another to be done Wednesday.
Just wondering if this is common? My first pregnancy i had no bleeding problems but every symptom possible to pregnancy, This time no real pregnancy symptoms.
Thanks for listening out there, Just stressing out!
smile
Hi, my first pregnancy I had no bleeding whatsoever so know what it's like to be sprung upon you!
Unfortunately, that's how my miscarriage started. I only had brown discharge when I wiped, not enough to need a pad or anything, and over a week it became slightly more, and then a massive gush of blood. But, I didn't loose the baby at that point! So basically what i'm saying is I know it's definitely normal to have some bleeding but bleeding with pain etc, isn't normal.
Hope everything works out, keep us updated smile
Hi there,
A lot of women have some sort of bleeding in early pregnancy. Half the time it's fine, half the time it's not. Sorry not to be a ray of hope here, but that's just the way it is. sad
The way you describe it as a brown discharge that only lasted a day or two, it doesn't sound too serious.