Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Does it get any easier? Lock Rss

I have never written on one of these forums before but from reading through previous messages you all seem to help each other through and I thought it help. On 12th August I gave birth to my beautiful Lucas stillborn at just over 39 weeks and am finding it very hard to cope. On the Wednesday everything was going well. On the Thursday I couldn't feel bub moving much and was worried but I had my regular doctors appointment that afternoon so just waited. During the appointment the doctor told me everything was fine and that his heartbeat was strong. I told her that I was worried he wasn't moving and that my stomach was sore but she insisted everything was ok. When I woke on the Friday I had an awful headache and still couldn't feel him moving. Everyone I spoke to that morning kept telling me that that was normal because he should stop moving as much at this stage. But I knew something was wrong and sure enough went to the hospital to hear the words I'll never forget "I'm sorry but he has no heartbeat". They induced my labour and my beautiful Lucas was born at 1:30pm on the Sunday.
We were told that there was a chance that had the doctor sent us to the hospital on the Thursday there is a chance that he could still be with us. That was really hard to hear, but i know being angry about it and trying to find someone to blame wont change anything or bring my boy back.
I just don't understand why any of this is happening. How could we get so close and then lose him. There was only a week until he was due and all our dreams would come true.
I am just not sure what it is I am supposed to do now? I was all ready to be a mum. And now I just feel so empty. My husband went back to work today so I have to try and find the strength to get through the days without him which is harder than I thought. Does it get any easier? I just can't imagine the pain ever ending.