Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More

Bleeding after birth? Lock Rss

Hi guys.
So I have been told a few things and I am just wondering what happens.
How much do you bleed after birth? Some people bleed for weeks, Others a few days.
Whats the normal rate going?
And I am trying to get ready for hospital and they say take 3 packets of martenity pads. There are only 7 in a packet, Is it enough?
And what pads are good. I have never used them before so i have no idea. Thanks smile
i bled for i think 6 weeks, then it stopped for a week then i bled for another 4 weeks, it didnt really stop all of a sudden it just slowly got lighter and lighter and ligher.

as for maternity pads, i took 1 packet with me and didnt use any of them. the hospital just gave me as many as i needed. just take 2 or 3 packs and if you need more then send someone off to get you some. you dont wanna fill your hospital bag up with stuff that can always be bought once bubs is here
I found that the first few days were pretty heavy and I used the maternity pads then but after a few days it was just like an af level and i just used normal pads. It then gradually tapered off.

Leisa
I had a home birth and on the information sheet from the midwife she suggested to use the tena brand in the largest size -as they are bigger and hold more, I also got a packet of maternity pads to use after and at night.
I bled heavily for the first couple of days and it lasted for 2 weeks.
I bled very heavily for 4 days and used the hospital pads. At one stage i was even leaking through those in a few hours. I bled just enough for normal pads after a week or 2. Used 3 packs of maternity pads in the first 2 week. I bled in total for 6 weeks.
10 weeks - the hospital gave me heaps when I was in there, but I took two packs of Libra Maternity in with me because I didn't realise they supplied them.