Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Newborn
  4. Your Premmie / NICU / SCN Baby
  5. I want to hear from mums of SCN/NICU bubs

I want to hear from mums of SCN/NICU bubs Rss

So I'm a nurse and about to start work next week in SCN and will eventually move to NICU when I have more experience and knowledge. I'd really like to hear from mums who have been through this - tell me a bit about your experience. What things did the nurses say or do that were particularly helpful for you and were there things nurses said or did that were upsetting? I know I will have a lot to learn but I'd appreciate hearing what it is like from the parents perspective. Thanks in advance!

Follow my blog "Bed Rest for Baby" at http://www.babysteps1804.wordpress.com

We were only in SCN for 6 nights when DD2 was 2 weeks old, and I spent the nights there too. All the nurses were fantastic in their own ways, but some were that bit more special.

To me, the ones I felt more comfortable with chatted to me about things in the outside world to give me something else to think about (like whats been happening on neighbours, or any interesting news), they listened to what I had to say & when I asked questions about my daughter they answered honestly & to as much depth as they could, or got the doctor to chat to me if it was something they werent sure on, they didnt forget that I had not long had a baby & needed to look after myself too & asked if I needed anything (because it is easy to forget about yourself), they helped me pick up my daughter when she had wires hanging off her & told me what all the machines did, they were warm & approachable, came & said goodbye at the end of their shift, told me everything I needed to know when we first came to the SCN, admired my baby with me, asked me how I was going emotionally & physically & were aware that I was on a hormonal rollercoaster, & emotionally sensitive.