Huggies Forum

Huggies® Ultimate
Newborn Nappies

Learn More
  1. home
  2. Baby Forum
  3. Newborn
  4. Depression Support Forum (Post Natal, Paternal etc)
  5. My partner keeps saying - well you wanted the baby.

My partner keeps saying - well you wanted the baby. Rss

Hi, this is my first time posting so please bare with me!

Our daughter is 1 weeks old today! I also have a 5 almost 6 year old son from a previous relationship.

Things have been average with settling in back home. My partner has 3 weeks off work to spend time with us & help out. He’s been helpful during the day with Mila & Cohen. But of a night seems to sleep though her waking up. I don’t mind so much but when he does wake he doesn’t offer to help.

This morning he said again for about the 4th time now, “ well you wanted the baby “ whenever I mention that I was the one up all night so he doesn’t have a lot of leg to stand on about saying he’s tired or have anything to complain about when I was up all night.

It’s starting to get hurtful & make me angry. So in reaction I said “ I’m sure your daughter would love to know her dad never wanted her “. And he was just Rude and said go for it.

How do i approach this?
We normally don’t argue & i understand everyone is exhausted but I’m the one who had the baby, I’m the one who’s up each night & i care for her quite a lot more ( part of being a mum I know )

But it’s so upsetting now.

Please help